Advisory Boards

Industrial Advisory Boards

The Industrial Advisory Boards for Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering Programs review the health of the department, advise the faculty on the general direction of the department, critically review the department strategic plans, help in developing new research directions and strengthen existing ones, advise the department on new faculty hires, identify potential sources of supplemental funding, and last but not least, help to develop, maintain and innovate the graduate and undergraduate curricula. The IABs meet once or twice per year for a full-day meeting.

Members of our advisory boards for program development are:

Mechanical Engineering Program

Klas Abrahamsson, Ph.D.
Agro and Environmental Markets Alfa Laval, Inc.

Thaer Almasri
Senior Operations Manager
eCMMS – White Oak Pack Center

David Alvarez
Director, ALCS Engineering
Altria Client Services

Keith Burns
V.P. of Engineering
Product Development
Hamilton Beach

Robert R. Croft, P.E. (VA/NC/TX/NH/GA/SC)
Project Engineering Manager – BOP Construction Support
Plant Vogtle Units 3 & 4
Stone & Webster, Inc

C.A. Hodges
Senior Professional — Agency and Vendor Relations
Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond

Michael B. Hurd
Director of MEP Engineering
Vice President
Moseley Architects

Andrew Hutton, Ph.D.
Associate Director, Accelerator Division
Jefferson Lab

Zoubeida Ounaies, Ph.D.
Professor, College of Engineering
Penn State University

Patrick A. Prendergast
Director of Engineering Service Operations
Alstom Power

Jacob L. Pretko
Research Investigator
DuPont Protection Solutions

Kevin Weiseman
Aramids Business Manufacturing Technical Manager

Nuclear Engineering Program

Mr. Tom Bergman
Vice President, Regulatory Affairs
NuScale Power

Dr. Jon Carmack
Senior Technical Advisor to
Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Energy
Department of Energy
Idaho National Laboratory

Mr. David Christian
Chief Innovation Officer
Dominion Energy

Ms. Mary Cullen
Vice President, Nuclear Propulsion
Newport News Shipbuilding

Dr. Harold Dodds
Emeritus Professor, Nuclear Engineering
University of Tennessee

Mr. William (Barry) Fletcher
Vice President, Nuclear Propulsion (Retired as of Dec 2016)
Newport News Shipbuilding

Dr. Bruce Mallett
Executive Director of Operations (retired as of May 2010)
US Nuclear Regulatory Commission

John Monninger
Deputy Director, Division of Operating Reactor Licensing
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Mr. Marty Parece
Vice President, Design Authority and Licensing

Dr. David Pointer
Distinguished Nuclear Engineer
Reactor and Nuclear Systems Division
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Dr. Finis Southworth
Chief Technology Officer (retired as of August 2015)

Mr. Mark Tonacci
Branch Chief for Licensing Branch 1 (retired as of Dec 2016)
Division of New Reactor Licensing
Office of New Reactors

Mr. Glen Watford
Chief Consulting Engineer

Ex Officio Members

Gary Tepper, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
VCU Department of Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering

Supathorn Phongikaroon, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Director of Nuclear Engineering Programs
VCU Department of Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering