Robert J. Mattauch, Ph.D., Receives IEEE’s 2018 Microwave Pioneer Award

Bob Mattauch

Robert J. Mattauch, Ph.D., dean emeritus of the VCU School of Engineering and the founding chair of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, has been selected to receive the 2018 Microwave Pioneer Award of the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S).

The award is given for a career of meritorious achievement and outstanding technical contribution in the field of microwave theory and techniques.

“Mattauch epitomizes what it means to be a dean emeritus,” said Barbara D. Boyan, Ph.D., Alice T. and William H. Goodwin Chair and dean of the VCU School of Engineering. “He continues to contribute to the scientific community. I know I can rely on his thoughtful insights and his unconditional support for our school.”

Mattauch, whose research focus is radio astronomy and molecular spectroscopy detection elements, was the second dean of the school, from 1999 to 2006.

He will be honored at the organization’s awards banquet during the International Microwave Symposium June 10-15, 2018, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.