Advisory Boards

The undergraduate academic advisory board provides recommendations on different aspects of our undergraduate program including program educational objectives, curriculum co-op and internships, and other undergraduate concerns. The constituents of the board are made up of alumni as well as representatives from where our graduates achieve employment and/or further education. The board meets once a year in Richmond in April, and once by phone in October. Undergraduate students have the opportunity to discuss their concerns with the board and network during the April gathering. Board members will also be provided with the opportunity to meet with seniors presenting their projects at the Senior Design Expo. All faculty are also provided with an opportunity to discuss issues with the board during this gathering as well.

If you are a VCU BME alumni or you are a representative of an employer or educational program that wish to provide feedback on our BME undergraduate program and join the board, please feel free to contact:

Dianne Pawluk, Ph.D., ABET Coordinator
Phone: (804) 828-9491
Fax: (804) 828-4454

Current board members are listed below:

  • Garret Atkinson, Patent Examiner, United States Patent Office
  • Drew Cotter, Regulatory Projects Lead, Altria
  • Sean Fleury, Interventional Cardiology R&D Senior Engineer, Boston Scientific
  • Michael Francis, Vice-President of R&D, co-founder, Embody
  • Simone Gregor, Associate Biomedical Engineer, United Therapeutics Corporation
  • Sean Higgins, Manager, Medical Devices at SPARK Product Development
  • Patrick Headley, Manger, Clinical Engineering Professional Services at UVa Health System
  • Alexander Huber, Senior Scientist, LifeNet Health
  • Joseph Iaquinto, Research Health Science Specialist, VA Center of Excellence for Limb Loss Prevention and Prosthetic Engineering
  • Christopher Le, Medical Student, VCU
  • Chelsey Lever, Manager, Naval Sea Systems Command, Dahlgren
  • Joel Myklebust, Deputy Director of the Office of Science and Engineering Laboratories in the Center for Devices and Radiological Health, Food and Drug Administration
  • Jospeh Ornato, Professor, Division of Emergency Medical Services
  • Ross Pallansch, Medical Student, VCU
  • Mike Prosser, Director of Research and Development, K2M
  • Scott Sell, Assistant Professor, Saint Louis University
  • Mike Simmers, Senior Director, Technology and Research Platforms, Hemoshear Therapeutics
  • Anna Skinner, President and CEO, BlacMoon
  • Tiffany Wong, System Developer Analyst, Accenture Federal