Advisory Boards

The Department of Computer Science receives helpful guidance from its advisory boards that provide different perspectives on the department as well as the field of computer science.

Industrial Advisory Board

The Industrial Advisory Board serves as a link between the department and local, state and national businesses, as well as federal agencies and other universities. The IAB advises the department on business trends, provides feedback on the preparedness of its graduates for fulfilling current business needs and helps keep the curriculum current.

External members

Name Position Company/Organization Location
Jason Butler Senior VP CoStar Group Richmond, VA
Allen Calderwood Software Engineer Google Sunnyvale, CA
Rebecca Dovi President CodeVA Richmond, VA
Chris Gray Senior Product Manager Revenue iQ Richmond, VA
Dan Han Chief Security Officer VCU Richmond, VA
Cindy Hopping Director, Customer Technology UPS Freight Richmond, VA
Jacob Kamieniak Security Analyst General Electric Glen Allen, VA
Robert  (Rob) R. Keeton First Sergeant, Bureau of Criminal Investigation Computer Evidence Recovery Unit Virginia State Police Richmond, VA
Keisha Leonard FBLA Capital Region Director Hermitage Technical Center Henrico, VA
Romain Lheritier Regional Director IPPON Richmond, VA
Robert Lockwood Managing Director of Engineering CleverDevices Richmond, VA
Ellen Malick Computer Science Instructor Atlee High School Mechanicsville, VA
Margaret Mayer VP Software Engineering, Conversation & Messaging Platforms Capital One Richmond, VA
Michael Mayo Research Physicist US Army Corps of Engineers Vicksburg, MS
Sam Nixon, Jr. Chief Administrative Officer Virginia State Corporation Commission Richmond, VA
Andy Pemberton Senior Director OutSystems Richmond, VA
Kishau Rogers President Websmith Group Richmond, VA
Leonard J. Santalucia CTO Vicom Infinity, Inc. New York, NY
Vinnie Schoenfelder Principal CapTech Richmond, VA
Ken Spedden Executive Vice President, Founder, Chairman D.A.T.A, Innovative Solutions Consortium Vienna, VA
Christopher Tignor Sr. Vice President, Information Security Federal Reserve Richmond, VA
Ian Tyndall Director of Information Services, Sales & Marketing Support Altria Richmond, VA
Anthony X. Uliano Founder & CTO AMC Technology Midlothian, VA
Todd Waldo Enterprise Engineering Manager Royall & Company Richmond, VA

Internal members

Gregory A. Buck Professor VCU School of Medicine Richmond, VA
Krzysztof "Krys" Cios Professor and Chair Computer Science Dept., VCU 401 West Main Street, Richmond, VA

Student Advisory Board

Computer Science student advisory board members.

The Student Advisory Board represents all students — graduate and undergraduate, part-time and full-time. The group provides student input and feedback to the Department of Computer Science chair and faculty, promoting communication between all levels of the department. We encourage you to contact board members with your concerns and suggestions, including comments on curriculum and scheduling, the quality of the courses, academic policies, ways of attracting high school students to the department, etc.


Vishakha Sehgal, President, and President of the CS Mentorship Program 

Mit Amin

Abigail Byram

Paolo Cachi

Darren Chan, President of ACM 

Megan Charity

Nicholas Copi

Chelsea Greco

Zeyphr Headley, Vice President of Cyber Security

Sabrina Kundu, President of ACM-W 

Justin Miller, President of the Linux Users Group

Andriy Mulyar

John Naylor, President of RamDev

Rohan Ray

Ali Tayeh

Bharat Venkat