Board of Trustees 2016-2017

Name/Position Company Position


William H. Goodwin, Jr.
Chairman Emeritus
Chairman & President

CCA Industries

Mark Cruise
Vice President, Applied Technology

Altria Client Services

Mary Doswell
Past President
Temple Ballard
Audit Committee Chair
Vice President, Technical Direction

Suez North America

William K. Lamp 
Advancement Committee Chair

Engineers Plus

Steve Henderson
Finance Committee Chair
Director of Investments

Spider Management Company

Paul Rocheleau
Long Range Planning Committee Chair
Director of Strategic Initiatives

Virginia Commonwealth University

Larry Cummings
Nominating Committee Chair
Marketing Leader, Strategic Partnerships


Andy Hobson
Alumni Board President
Sales Engineer

TLA, Inc.

David Barlow 

Vice President 

CHA Consulting

Jason Butler

Senior Vice President of Software Development

CoStar Group

Julia Cain

Director of Research and Development

Ballast Point Brewing Company

Thomas E. Gottwald  President & CEO

NewMarket Corporation

Chris Groome

Vice President

Groome Transportation

Hans de Koning

President Flexicell

Steven R. Lindgren

Vice President, Sales KSB

John A. Luke, Jr.

Chairman WestRock

Nimisha Mukherjee, Ph.D.

Associate Director, Regulatory Affairs  Merck Sharp & Dohme Corp.

Dan Neuwirth

CEO Envera Health

Martin Prakken

CEO BluePrint Automation

Marsha Rappley, M.D.

CEO VCU Health System

Brian Riopelle

Chair, IP Litigations and Patents Department McGuire Woods

Dan Shuber

Senior Director of Technology Capital One

Greg Sitkiewicz

Cuff Business Manager, Patient Care Solutions GE Healthcare

Jeffrey T. Stanfield

Human Resources Director DuPont Teijin Films Americas Region

Chung-Chee Tai

Vice President of Engineering

Blueprint Automation

Scott Ukrop

Director of Business Development


Barbara Boyan, Ph.D. Dean, School of Engineering Virginia Commonwealth University
Michael Rao, Ph.D. President Virginia Commonwealth University


Name Position


The Honorable George F. Allen
President George 

Allen Strategies

William W. Berry*

Former Chairman & CEO,

Dominion Resources

James C. Cherry


Park Sterling Bank

William S. Cooper, Jr.

Former Pres., CEO, Founder & Director  Choice Communications

Bradford A. Crosby

Contracts Department Manager 

Norfolk Naval Shipyard 

Clifford A. Cutchins, IV
Past President


McGuire Woods LLP
Marguerite Davis Owner  The Davis Collection
Thomas D. Eilerson Chairman  EDC
Joseph C. Farrell*  Retired Chairman, CEO & President  Pittston Company
Thomas F. Farrell, II  Chairman, President & CEO  Dominion Resources, Inc.
J. Carter Fox  Former Chairman, President & CEO 

Chesapeake Corporation

Robert M. Freeman* 

Former Chairman & CEO 

Signet Banking Corporation
Bruce C. Gottwald


NewMarket Corporation 

Bruce A. Henderson*

Former Chairman & CEO  

Imation Corporation 

C.T. Hill Former Chairman, President & CEO 

SunTrust Bank, Mid-Atlantic 

Mr. Richard G. Holder*

Former Chairman & CEO Reynolds Metals Corporation
Sean Hunkler Vice President Manufacturing MEMC

Mr. Arthur D. Hurtado

Chairman & CEO - Retired  
Hugh Joyce


James River Air Conditioning Co, Inc.

E. Morgan Massey

CEO, Owner & Chairman  Evan Energy Compnay
Malcolm S. McDonald  Former Chairman and CEO Signet Banking Corporation
John L. McElroy, Jr.

Chairman Emeritus 

Wells Fargo Securities 

David L. Milby*

Former Sr. VP  Philip Morris USA 

Wayne K. Nesbit 

Vice President  CREE

S. F. Pauley

Chairman & CEO  Carpenter Company

Richard E. Posey 

Retired President & CEO  MOEN

E. Bryson Powell 

President  Midlothian Enterprises, Inc.

Ms. Anne G. Rhodes 

Community Leader

Robert E. Rigsby  Retired President & COO  Dominion Virginia Power

Walter S. Robertson, III

Chief Executive Officer  Sterne Agee
E. Claiborne Robins*  Former Chairman & Director  Wyeth Consumer Healthcare
Dwight Schar President  NVR

Wolfgang Schubl

Director Weidmuller Ltd.
Thomas J. Seifert COO and CFO  Qimonda 
Richard L. Sharp*  Managing Director  V10 Capital Partners

Jeremiah J. Sheehan

Retired CEO & Chairman 

Reynolds Metals, Co.
John D. Sherman, Jr.  Retired President & CEO  Scott & Stringfellow, Inc.
Hugh R. Stallard Retired President 

Verizon Virginia 

Mark A. Sternheimer, Sr.

President  Sternheimer Brothers, Inc.
Richard G. Tilghman  Retired Vice Chairman SunTrust Banks, Inc., Mid-Atlantic

James E. Ukrop


Ukrop’s Super Markets/First Market Bank 

Hays T. Watkins

Retired CEO 

CSX Railroad

Robert C. Williams*

Chairman Emeritus 

James River Corporation

Robert W. Woltz, Jr.

Retired President 

Verizon Virginia

C. Kenneth Wright


Wright Properties